As part of Colorado State University’s strong commitment to diversity, the Multicultural Staff & Faculty Network Distinguished Service Awards honor academic faculty, administrative professional, and state classified employees who have made outstanding contributions within the University as well as surrounding communities.

Award nominees must have:

  • An enhanced awareness of the status of individuals and groups who are ethnically and/or racially diverse and
  • Fostered the advancement of diversity, inclusion and equity beyond their professional responsibilities and
  • Strengthened multicultural and inclusion efforts for underrepresented and underserved populations

Recognition & Awards Committee

The Recognition and Awards committee coordinates nomination efforts of multicultural staff and faculty to campus and community awards.

On the slide show, Chair Elect Patricia Vigil and Rachael Johnson, Administrative Professional Awardee 2018.

The Multicultural Staff & Faculty Network Distinguished Service Awards recognize the nominee’s service for outstanding contributions to diversity, inclusive excellence and multiculturalism to/in their professions within the University, our community and society.  Nominators should address the nomination’s exceptional leadership in one or more of the following areas by documented efforts that are beyond the routine expectations of the nominee’s job:

  • Evidence of leadership excellence in the advancement of diversity within and/or outside the university
  • Evidence of leadership in advancing social justice and equality
  • Evidence of sustained commitment to diversity
  • Evidence this person has instilled the value of diversity in others

Nominations may be submitted by faculty, staff, or  students, or administrators. The nominee must have worked at Colorado State University for at least two semesters, or the equivalent, as of the current academic year. Past recipients of the awards are not eligible for nomination (see list below).

Nominations are sought in the following categories with awards up to $1,000.

  • Full-time, part-time, tenure-track or adjunct faculty member
  • Full-time or part-time Administrative Professional
  • Full-time or part-time State Classified staff

The MSFN Awards Committee is no longer accepting nominations for 2018.

Nomination Packet

Nominations must include the following:

  • Nomination form.
  • Curriculum vitae (CV) or resume of nominee
  • Formal letter of nomination statement (up to two pages, 12-point font, double-spaced).
  • Additional letter of support for the nomination (up to two pages, 12-point font, double-spaced).
YearAcademic FacultyAdministrative ProfessionalState Classified
2018Mark BrownRachael JohnsonKelly Hixson
2017Margarita LenkMichael JaramilloLinda Hernandez Price
2016Shane KanatousTom Biedscheid
Maria Martinez
2015Lumina AlbertCarla Barela BloomSalome Cardona
2014Irene Vernon
Masako “Mako” Beecken
Paul Thayer
2013Malcolm ScottFrank JohnsonNo award given
2012Maura Velasquez-CastilloRonald HallConnie Jamie-Lujan
2011Norberto ValdezTyrone SmithMaria de Lourdes Zavala
Teresa Rice
2010Eulanda SandersMarilyn ThayerNo award given
2009Eric AokiCarmen RiveraNo award given
2008Mohammed HirchiOscar FelixJennifer "Jan" Iron
2007Gregory FlorantShannon Archibeque-EngleStan Oakland
2006Roe BubarTae NosakaKristi Buffington
2005No award givenNan McClurg
Crotilda "Tillie" Trujillo
Cheri Lazar
2004Peter A. JacobsAlan TuckerLinda Wardlow
2003Albert C. YatesRichard A. SalasMaria "Ri" Romero
2002Glen D. RaskAlfred Flores, Jr.Amelia Rivera
2001Blane HardingBarb MusselwhiteMaria Escobar
2000M. Nazuml KarimLinda AhunaBert Barela
1999V. ChandrasekarArlene NededogHarold Santistevan
1998Philip OmiPatricia VigilWarren Santistevan
1997Paul H. GutierrezBlanche M. HughesMary Ann Sanchez
1996Daniel SunadaCheryl PresleyGloria Balderama
1995Victor BaezLaura Macagno-ShangNo award given
1994Kai-Ho MahMary OntiverosNo award given
1993Ernest ChavezGuadalupe SalazarNo award given
1992Richard SuinnRudy GarciaNo award given
1989Rajinder RanuFrancis BescentiNo award given
1988William SimssAlvaro MaldonadoNo award given
1987Grant LeeSylvester TownsendNo award given

*No awards were given in 1990 nor 1991.

Contact Arlene Nededog at 970-491-2036 or if you have questions.